TSX.V: CWV Beta: 0.76 Current: 0.215 Current Price : CA$0.22

Corporate Info

Directors & Management

Murray D. McCartney – President and CEO, Director
Murray D. McCartney has had over 28 years experience in the petroleum industry in both private and public companies.  From 1994 -2004 Murray was a director and CEO of Cavell Energy Corp. and was instrumental in its divestiture to a leading large royalty trust company.  From 2004-2008 Mr. McCartney was president and CEO of the private company Adamant Energy.  Murray and his team built Adamant into a 3000 barrel per Day Company before selling to an Alberta based intermediate in May of 2008.  Murray joined Crown Point in May 2009.


Brian J. Moss Ph.D. – Executive Vice President, COO and Director
Dr. Moss has extensive experience in Argentina built over the last 15 years in senior Latin American focused positions with Conwest Exploration, Alberta Energy Company, Rio Alto and Antrim Energy. Brian has successfully built and managed operations in the San Jorge, Austral, Neuquén and Northwest Basins. He is bringing a well developed skill set in exploration and development and business development to Crown Point. Dr. Moss holds a Ph.D. in Petroleum Geology from the Royal School of Mines, University of London, UK. He is a member of the Association of Professional Engineers, Geologists and Geophysicists of Alberta. Brian's Latin American skill and experience set will integrate well with Crown Point's ongoing operations and growth plans.


Arthur J.G. Madden – Chief Financial Officer
Arthur J. G. Madden has 37 years experience in the petroleum industry in both private and public companies. President of 554492 Alberta Ltd. (a private company providing consulting services to the energy sector). Mr. Madden was Vice-President Finance, Chief Financial Officer, and Director of Adamant Energy Inc. (a private oil and gas company) from July 2004 to May 2008. Mr. Madden was Vice-President, Finance, and Chief Financial Officer of Cavell Energy Corporation (a public oil and gas company) from June 1994 to July 2004.

Art has a Certified Management Accountant designation, Masters of Business Administration from Queens University, and has achieved the Institute of Corporate Directors designation in May 2009. He is also a member of Financial Executives International, and joined Crown Point in October 2009.


Daniel Lanussol – Executive Vice President, Argentina Operations
Daniel Lanussol has over 35 years of experience in the Oil and Gas Industry. Mr. Lanussol has worked in several Latin American countries as an Exploration Manager; Technical Project Leader and Business Development Officer. Before Mr. Lanussol joined Crown Point Oil and Gas S.A. as Executive Vice-President in 2011, he was involved in Consultation Services, Reserves Certification, Projects Evaluation and Business Development for a number of companies, including YPF, Schlumberger, Andina, Oracle and Golden Oil Corporation.


Gordon Kettleson – Non – Executive Chairman & Director
Gordon Kettleson was part of the founding team of Crown Point Ventures and has been serving as a Director, Secretary and CFO since 2001. In 2009, he was named Chairman of CWV, as the Company has expanded its management team and Board. Gordon has a successful track record in oil and gas, serving as President and CEO of Interwest Enterprises Ltd., a successful private Canadian oil producer with operations in Manitoba, Alberta, Saskatchewan and British Columbia.


Carlos Olivieri CPA - Director
Carlos Olivieri was the Chief Financial Officer of Repsol YPF and holds a CPA degree and postgraduate degrees in Corporate Financial Management from the University of Michigan and from Columbia University and the Director's College at the University of Michigan. He is currently an MBA professor of Finance at Di Tella, Austral and Cema Universities. During his tenure at YPF S.A. which is the largest energy company in Argentina, he supervised the restructuring, privatization and IPO process of the company and as the president of Maxus Corporation (US YPF subsidiary) and YPF Gas S.A. played an important role in the internationalization of the company. Mr. Olivieri has extensive experience as a director having served on the board of directors of Repsol YPF, Quilmes Industrial, Aerolineas Argentinas, TGS S.A. (a natural gas transportation company) and the Metlife Argentina Pension Fund.


Denny Deren - Director
Denny Deren brings over 25 years of experience in the oil and gas industry to the board. He has extensive experience in modern day technology in downhole drilling and completion techniques. Most recently, he founded Excaliber Foxx Ltd., which has developed a new safety product called the "Foxxhole", which allows a worker to evacuate to safety from the racking platform through a fire resistant chute.  Denny joined the Crown Point Board in 2008.


John Clark - Director
John Clark is a C.A. with over 20 years experience in the oil and gas industry. John holds a B. Comm. from The University of the Witwatersrand in South Africa and is a member of both the South African Institute of Chartered Accountants and The Institute of Chartered Accountants of Ontario. He is President of Investments and Technical Management Corp. (1999 – current), and was formerly President and subsequently Executive Chair of Laurasia Resources Limited until its merger with StarTech Energy in 1998. John joined the Board in May 2010.


Keith Turnbull CA - Director
Mr. Turnbull retired from KPMG LLP ("KPMG") in 2009 where he had been a partner for nearly 30 years. Prior to retirement, Keith was a member of the executive management committee of KPMG. His most recent operations responsibilities included being the Office Managing Partner for KPMG's Calgary office where he was responsible for the strategic direction and growth of the Calgary practice as well as KPMG's audit, tax and advisory business in Calgary. While serving as a partner, Mr. Turnbull's clients included a wide variety of public and private companies primarily in the resource and resource service sector. Mr. Turnbull became a securities reviewing partner in 1997 which resulted in him becoming involved in a significant number of emerging energy companies as well as numerous initial public offerings.

Mr. Turnbull is a director and chair of the audit committees of CE Franklin Ltd., a company listed on each of the Toronto Stock Exchange and NASDAQ exchange that supplies products and services to the energy business, and Carbon Management Canada Inc., a not-for-profit corporation focused on innovations in reducing carbon emissions, a director of Angle Energy Inc., an oil and gas exploration and development company listed on the Toronto Stock Exchange and a former director of UNX Energy Corp., a TSX Venture Exchange and Frankfurt listed oil and gas offshore exploration entity.